top of page

Basic Theology Certificate


This 6-book course is a comprehensive (historical-geographical) study of the life of Jesus based on the Gospel of Matthew and the book of Acts.
Through this course you will also learn counseling, theology, methods of biblical interpretation, preaching, pastoral work, and mission.



BOOK 1: Introduction and Infancy

Unit 1: Jesus in the Roman Empire; the political situation in Palestine; Matthew the author.
Unit 2: The Kingdom of Heaven; Jesus the King.
Unit 3: The five steps of the life of Jesus; the map of Palestine; the three years of ministry.
Unit 4: The bridge system; the structure of the Gospel of Matthew.
Unit 5: The genealogies of Jesus (1 and 2)
Unit 6: The three basic Bible study techniques (1 and 2); announcements of the King's birth.
Unit 7: The Son of God; the Son of Man; false doctrine.
Unit 8: God's promises; the pastoral use of promises.
Unit 9: The four Herods; the childhood of Jesus; Jesus in Egypt.
Unit 10: The sovereignty of God; the youth of Jesus.
Final exam (written)


BOOK 2: Year of Preparation

Unit 1: The preaching of John the Baptist; the Pharisees and Sadducees.
Unit 2: The confession of our sins; using the Bible in confession.
Unit 3: The Gospel of Luke and the Year of Preparation; the Gospel of John and the Year of Preparation.
Unit 4: The baptism of Jesus; the Trinity
Unit 5: The Trinity and the Apostolic Creed; the attributes of God.
Unit 6: Jesus tempted as the Son of God; Jesus tempted as the Son of Man.
Unit 7: How Jesus Used the Scriptures; the inspiration of the Bible, the unity of it.
Unit 8: The inspiration of the Bible, fulfillment and external evidence.
Unit 9: Jesus and Nicodemus; Jesus and the Samaritan woman.
Unit 10: How to Lead Others to Christ; the Year of Preparation.
Final exam (written).


BOOK 3: Year of Popularity

Unit 1: Popularity Year Analysis; expansion of the kingdom.
Unit 2: Statutes of the kingdom (1,2 and 3)
Unit 3: Statutes of the kingdom (4 and 5); how to prepare sermons.
Unit 4: The Lord's Prayer; prayer alone; praying with the Bible.
Unit 5: Evidences of the kingdom (1, 2 and 3)
Unit 6: Evidences of the kingdom 4: contradiction or condensation ?; Evidences of kingdom 5, modern science and miracles of Jesus.
Unit 7: Ambassadors of the kingdom (1, 2 and 3)
Unit 8: Enemies of the kingdom (1, 2 and 3)
Unit 9: Kingdom examples (1 and 2)
Unit 10: Extending the kingdom through personal testimony, home Bible studies, planting new churches.
Final exam (written).


BOOK 4: Year of passion

Unit 1: Analysis of the Year of Passion; analysis of the retirement semester; Herod's marital life.
Unit 2: Feeding the 5,000 (and the 4,000); man, fear and psychological adjustments; tradition, reason or revelation.
Unit 3: Man: Made in the Image of God, Controversy with the Pharisees; man, his sinful nature.
Unit 4: Angels and demons; Christ and his Church.
Unit 5: Man and the problem of death; the man and his body; man and spiritism.
Unit 6: Negative human relationships; positive human relationships.
Unit 7: Analysis of the delivery semester (1 and 2); the Samaritans.
Unit 8: Man and sex; man and marriage; the man and the family.
Unit 9: Man and material possessions; the justice and generosity of God.
Unit 10: Human, spiritual and worldly ambitions; approaching the end, Jericho.
Final exam (written).


BOOK 5: The week of passion

Unit 1: Analysis of the last week of the Preparation Year; Jerusalem and the temple.
Unit 2: Jesus: Prophet, Priest and King.
Unit 3: The intellect, the emotions and the will; the consecrated intellect.
Unit 4: The evaluation technique (1 and 2); consecrated emotions.
Unit 5: The Sermon on the Olives (1 and 2)
Unit 6: The Sermon on the Olives (3, 4 and 5)
Unit 7: The finances of the church; the Lord's Supper, its institution and meaning.
Unit 8: The Upper Room Sermon; the consecrated will, Gethsemane; the trials, Jewish and Roman.
Unit 9: The death of Jesus; grave; victory over death.
Unit 10: Comparative analysis of the four gospels (1 and 2).
Final exam (written).


BOOK 6: The Risen Life

Unit 1: The appearances of the risen Christ; proofs of the resurrection; denial of the risen Christ.
Unit 2: The Great Commission; resurrection, ascension and exaltation; the events of the fifty-two days.
Unit 3: The Book of Acts; Pentecost and the person of the Holy Spirit.
Unit 4: The work of the Holy Spirit; the fullness of the Holy Spirit.
Unit 5: Baptism and the Church in Jerusalem; apostolic preaching; miracles and healings.
Unit 6: The persecution and suffering; discipline in the church; the church as the body of Christ.
Unit 7: The defense of Stephen (1 and 2), Old Testament history.
Unit 8: Felipe mission to Judea and Samaria; Philip and the Ethiopian, personal evangelization; Ananias and Saul, taking care of new believers.
Unit 9: Pedro and Cornelio, Caesarea; Barnabas, Son of Consolation; Pablo, Antioquia.
Unit 10: Analysis: look for structures, gather analytical data, put titles.
Final exam (written).

bottom of page